top of page

Reflecting on Life

Now that’s a deep title, huh?! Well, so much has happened in this past year, I need to begin to think what’s going to happen to me in the coming year.




Posts and website changes.

Understanding yourself and your own brand is what you think would be common sense. Knowing the style of your brand and layers of what comes with it needs to be thought of. What target market are you going for?

Knowing the style of brand, Street, Sustainable; choosing the one that mostly relates to you and the message you want to convey to people and/or future employers is vital to gain a respectable following. This is also what I had to consider during my time at university. My first and second year helped me to develop what I would like to take forward, to what I would like to do after I graduate. The brand’s style should reflect in the website and social media.

Next Year, keeping with my own personal style across all social platforms and keeping with a theme from one media across another will read smoother. E.g. having a brand dedicated to bright colours and glitter to producing a collection which is all black and no colour makes no sense for the brand’s following.

The Customer’s journey.

Knowing the customer’s process from start to finish through the brand is great to know as you can post, update, or release a new collection the minute any customer has any doubts or second thoughts about purchasing or following the brand. I can post to social media and get increasingly more people who are interested in either what I am doing for my final year or events happening for graduate shows and fundraising. This brings in people’s interest of all final years or even one help to boost awareness.


Newsletter

You can offer your followers exclusive access or discounts on events or products. You can extend the reach much like social media. If we use this for my final year this would widen the age gap of people who would be interested and don’t use social media. We could offer discounted access on fundraising events and sneak peaks into projects and collections the newsletter could also have a 50p initial donation to fundraising for the degree shows.

Get a wider reach

Optimising the reach of images online is a great way to get a wide audience. The types of words used in an image will bring so many people in. One thing which should also be kept in mind is organisation of the images on any website and social media and think about the way they read to the viewer. To use this, I think I will create a capsule collection to “tease” the target audience into being interested in something big and exciting happening in Coventry.

Next year would be great for me to make a capsule collection. From this I could make a ‘zine or work with developing and broadcasting onto social media and websites. I could also collaborate with music/ performance students to put together a video which will feature the capsule collection in full or snippets and raise more awareness of my collection via another platform.

But you know what I would really like for next year? I'll tell you! To be happy and comfortable with my work and find pride with what I achieve and produce. Stop being so self-critical about my work and own it!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page